Meet The RTD Team


Name: Mark HopkinsMark Hopkins

Place Of Birth: Marston Green, Birmingham
Currently Living: Swadlincote
Occupation: Contract Manager
Favourite Colour: Blue
Hobbies: Running and watching Birmingham City FC
Favourite food: Chicken, chicken & chicken
Biggest Achievement: Completing 16 weeks of training to become a Special Constable for Derbyshire Constabulary
Statement: Having been a member of several running groups I found that they were either local & cliquy or not very active. I created RTD one night as I was lying on the sofa. In my mind I wanted a group where members could engage with each other from across the globe. Sitting here today I never ever thought we would have as many members as we do, from many countries. You are truly an amazing bunch of people and I’m privileged to have not only spoken to you but met some of you. We have an amazing team here at RTD and without them we wouldn’t be able to set you the challenges and offer you advice. Long may it continue. Thank you for choosing RTD.

Name: Katy Hopkins

Place Of Birth: Solihull
Currently Living: Swadlincote
Occupation: Aldi Buying Assistant Favourite
Colour: Pink
Hobbies: Running and Reading
Favourite food: Chinese
Biggest Achievement: Pushing 2 people out of my body.

Statement: I have never been a runner or in anyway sporty. I’m an indoor, watching TV kind of girl. Being married to Mark has made me see just how passionate he is for running and although I don’t ever plan on running a marathon, I hope to eventually look forward to going out for a run instead of dreading it. The couch to 5k program has been amazing and it just goes to show what you can achieve with a free app and an endless amount of support from the RTD family. To everyone new at running and those pushing for that extra mile each time they go out YOU CAN DO THIS

Name: Lyndsey Wright Lyndsey Wright's photo.

Place of Birth: Nottingham
Currently living: Nottingham
Occupation: PhD student (Molecular and Cell Biology)
Favourite colour: Purple
Hobbies: Running (obviously!), eating (the reason why I run!) and watching rugby and cricket (I have to- my other half plays them both!)
Favourite food: Enchiladas- yum!
Biggest achievement: Completing my four half marathons in four months challenge last year (I actually did 6 in 4 months- oops!)

Statement: If you’d told me this time last year I’d be in the middle of marathon training, I would’ve laughed in your face. I was a bookworm at school, hated all sports but joined my local ladies running club in a bid to shift some pounds, get some exercise and hopefully have some fun at the same time. I have achieved more than I ever thought possible with my running, completing my first half marathon in May last year and since have completed 6 more. I’m passionate about getting women of all shapes, sizes and abilities engaged in exercise and have become a trained run leader. Alongside this, I’m an ambassador for the This Girl Can campaign, helping women to overcome the barriers to participating in sport and hopefully encourage a love of running for many local women! Joining RTD is like gaining 1000s of new friends who all love the same sport I do, we are a family and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Name: Ellie Michael
Place of birth : Achamdi, Kuwait
Currently living :Cardiff , South Wales.
Occupation: Admin Assistant in Morrisons
Favourite colour : Pink (electric)!!
Hobbies : Running, collecting bling and going to the cinema
Favourite food: Chicken and pizza
Biggest acheivement: Having my wonderful daughter and completing a half marathon.
Statement: In school I hated running, couldn’t stand it, so I can’t believe that many many years later, I’m actually training for a marathon.
RTD has been a massive inspiration and help to me in my marathon training and wouldn’t be without it. I don’t know if I would have made it as far as I have without the support and guidance from so many wonderful people.
Everyone is like a massive running family and we are there for each other through good and bad times.
%d bloggers like this: